Reflections on Wordsworth via Mobile Phone

Mobile phone blogging on Wordsworth by High School students.

Alieninvasion’s Blog: not *nature*, but *memory*. July 24, 2008

Filed under: 'Tintern Abbey',AlienInvasion's Blogs,Specific Poems — nbcslearn @ 8:47 pm

Mobile post sent by alieninvasion using Utterzreply-count Replies.  mp3

 

5 Responses to “Alieninvasion’s Blog: not *nature*, but *memory*.”

  1. Flargin Says:

    Memories are always so great when they involve nature – they have just a freeness to them.

  2. Sydney Says:

    I think Ellen has made a crucial point in her blog and shows us how the surroundings of our memories can play such a important part.
    As the her blog says, it is not the nature istelf that creates the uplift but the precious memories that are associated with that place. This is certainly a significant part of a human is their memories that they can retreat into in times of hardship. These memories are so uplifting because they remind us of happy days and that life is not always a drag. When one is not happy in the place they are in these memories can remind them that they won’t be there forever and future change is indeed possible. The surrondings that these memories take place in, simply help in the remembering of the past and making the events and feelings seem more real and not just an image of the imagination. Associating a memory with an actual place that you can know is still there and you can touch comforts a human and gives them a vivid detailed image of the past memory.

  3. Flower Says:

    Nice blog Alien in vasion!
    I can relate to you as, thinking of the memories I have created in nature with friends and families does refresh me and make me feel happy. But I feel even more refreshed when I am amongst nature, looking at its beauty.

  4. Clara Says:

    AlienInvasion, I agree with your point that ‘nature its self does not refresh me but the memories I’ve created in nature do’ – I can definitely relate to this in my own life.
    Often, the memories of nature that refresh me most are dependent on how I was feeling that day or the people I was with.

  5. Heather Says:

    I think that’s a really good point! Perhaps, it is more to do with the memories of feeling content amidst nature that causes us to feel content again when we think back to that place. Certain places in my memory have positive asscoiations. For example, there is a park by the water where my family goes to see the fireworks on New Year’s Eve. When I return there I feel refreshed by thoughts of new beginnings.


Leave a Reply

